Woody Smalls

Mindless Rhetoric at its Best!

Perplexed

For the life of me I can’t figure a few things out.

First, to keep costs down has 60 Minutes fired its make-up crew? I mean did you see Andy Rooney this week. I do not watch 60 Minutes, but in the process of flipping the channels his bushy eyebrows just jumped off the screen. I just hope that 60 Minutes has not gone HD as of yet. Those are images that would scar many a child.

Second, is anyone else tired of the way the political process has faded into a glorified version of 3 third graders fussing over whose turn it is to ride on the swing. It’s sad. The title of President deserves more respect. Not only from the candidates, but from us as Americans as well. Let’s force them to quit being actors and salespeople. It is not all their fault, though. Our failure as Americans is why we are in the mess we are in anyway. We can embrace our differences without losing the unity that makes us Americans. I’m 35. My grandfather and his generation understood what sacrifices we needed to make to make this country what it is. Did they make mistakes? Yes, many. Should we live in the past by focusing on mistakes made over 30 years ago? I am willing to meet in the middle and give a little to make this country the United States of America once again. Are you?

Third, the fax machine. Seriously, think about it. I have a master’s degree and I think that I am a fairly intelligent and rational person. But, for the life of me, I cannot figure out how you can place a piece of paper in this machine, press a button and through a phone line it will arrive 3000 miles away as a perfect replica of what is in my hand. As crazy as it sounds, I think I understand how email and the Internet works on this principle better than a fax machine. What perplexes me even more is that this person actually took the time to devote his life to explaining it.

Fourth, the guy who is the make-up guru on TLC’s 10 Years Younger. Look, I have nothing against him or want to judge him on how he lives his lifestyle. I just want to point out it is a show about people who are not dressing and carrying themselves to look their best and I think he has that problem. I will be the first to admit I do not understand fashion or his lifestyle choice, but come on. Seeing him dressed the way he is each week is equivalent of having a fully functional bar at an AA meeting. He is a bigger grease fire to me than the “selected participants” some weeks. Again, I’m not judging, but this is a dude? I’ve got man-boobs too, but I would never wear a v-neck to show them off!

Finally, why am I leery of clowns? Is is because of something in my past? To my knowledge, nothing weird every happened. I used to love going to the circus when I was a kid. The only thing I can figure is maybe watching some Son of Sam documentaries on the Discovery Channel or IT by Stephen King when it came on TV that time. I don’t want to go into what I think about dwarf clowns. That really gets me freaked out! Nothing against those folks who want to do this for a living and all. Yikes! I don’t think they are suppose to be this scary. I guess some freak along the way decided it was time to sharpen the image a bit.

Until next we meet…

March 12, 2008 Posted by | Clowns, Fax Machines, Humor, Politics, TV | Leave a comment