Woody Smalls

Mindless Rhetoric at its Best!

The Journey…

To say the job market stinks right now would be an understatement.

Part of me, socially and globally, understands that it is a necessary evil. Production wise, we have old models of doing business and a very aging infrastructure that needs to be completely demolished and rebuilt. Patching and repairing will no longer do. A complete change must happen.
For a lot of folks, it is business as usual. In fact, for more than 90% of the US, nothing has really changed. The media and politicians would like to scare us into thinking the world is coming to an end, but, in reality, we are doing pretty good.
So my 2 cents are just exactly what they are worth…
I do believe that when one door closes in life a better one opens. I stand by many verses in the Bible but try to live Jeremiah 29:10-14…

29:10 “For the Lord says, ‘Only when the seventy years of Babylonian rule15 are over will I again take up consideration for you.16 Then I will fulfill my gracious promise to you and restore17 you to your homeland.18 29:11 For I know what I have planned for you,’ says the Lord.19 ‘I have plans to prosper you, not to harm you. I have plans to give you20 a future filled with hope.21 29:12 When you call out to me and come to me in prayer,22 I will hear your prayers.23 29:13 When you seek me in prayer and worship, you will find me available to you. If you seek me with all your heart and soul,24 29:14 I will make myself available to you,’25 says the Lord.26 ‘Then I will reverse your plight27 and will regather you from all the nations and all the places where I have exiled you,’ says the Lord.28 ‘I will bring you back to the place from which I exiled you.

A very refreshing verse, but a very hard one to follow each and every day.

The world is a very cruel and unforgiving place. It is Satan’s realm of deceit and lies. The closer you are to having a friendship and a true relationship with God, the more he will attack you and everything you love. For more on this, check out the book of Job.

So with that foundation and understanding, it is easier for me to understand and remain patient… most days…

There are times I have tremendous amounts of frustration and anger with my plight. I can get depressed over decisions I may have made that led me to this point of being laid off. Maybe if I would have done this or that I could have gotten past this. Maybe I should have taken that offer to leave and go with another company a few months before I got laid off. The mind can race.

Add the family aspect. A wife who is just as confused and frustrated as I am. The plot thickens.

The one constant is there is always something glorious in store of us in the time of our greatest doubt and fear. A devotion I read with my wife last night made the analogy of God and I on a tandem bike. For years I have steered because I didn’t fully trust him to take the best way I thought possible from point A to point B. We should have the role reversed, though. He should be steering and guiding us through His plan. Sometimes you take some sharp curves and climb a mountain you think is impossible. But, as with the verse in Jeremiah, He knows where He is leading you and He knows what your purpose and outcome is for His calling.

That is where I stand now…

What is my calling…

What is my purpose…

What is it that He needs me to do…

And… why has 5 months passed without His plan yet being revealed to me.

Until next we meet…

May 18, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

