Woody Smalls

Mindless Rhetoric at its Best!

Waiting…

This should be an easy question…

Have you ever been in a place in your life where you felt like you were in a line that wasn’t moving? Ready to great someone at the door, but they never show?
That is where I’ve been for about 5 months now.
I was laid off after 4 1/2 good years in pharmaceutical sales. I never in a million years ever thought I would be selling drugs, ugh… legally, but it was a solid job that helped me provide for my family. All was well, or so it seemed. My company had gone through many restructures over that time, but they always held true to the statement, “no one will lose their jobs.” Well, on Dec. 3, 2008, a great many of us in all levels of the company lost their job. The ride since has been roller coaster to say the least.
The one thing that has remained a constant for me each day is my faith in God and his plan for my life.
Okay, some of you out there who don’t know me is probably going to run and hide from the religious nut, but I ask you to hang with me for a little bit longer.
There are many versus in the Bible promoting God’s love and plan for all of his children. Again, for all of his children… those who believe and who do not believe. But there are also just as many versus explaining the hardships and trials a fallen world brings us all.
So this is where I’ve been for the past 5 months… trying to figure out why a door closed and faithfully follow God’s calling and direction in walking through the right door that opens next.
I’ve had a couple of things that looked like God sends and sure shots fall short at the last minute. That can be crushing. Just as crushing as losing a job. But, faithfully, I know it is for some reason.
Join me over the next few days and weeks as I figure out what and where my faith and calling is leading me.
Until next we meet…

May 12, 2009 Posted by | anger, faith, God, hardship, hope, job loss | Leave a comment